Salmon Cakes For The Win!

Hey everyone!

Happy Sunday and I hope you’ve had a great weekend so far. Spent much of yesterday cooking with the GF, and had a blast. Will post a few pics of some of the goodies we made last night. The main pic of today’s blog features a delicious plate of fried salmon cakes.

For presentation, I’d tried a couple of things before settling on this layout. It’s a little more symmetrical than I’d ordinarily prefer on a plate, but the size of the salmon cakes limited what I thought I could get done. The only other ‘complaint’ I have with my efforts is that aside from the browned panko bread crumbs, the lemon, and the fresh dill, the plating is too ‘white.’

(Apologies on the lighting for the pics.  Didn’t break out the mounted flash for my SLR.  Lesson learned for next time)

The GF and I had thought to do a rice pilaf from a box (GASP!), and we were using the burners for all sorts of cooking (see chocolate galette pic further down), and we didn’t have the space on the cooktop, so we went with microwaving the rice. We’d hoped that would give our plates a tad more color, but wound up being a bad choice, culinarily speaking. That’s another reason this blog features ‘homemade’ images, and a little honesty where mistakes were made. 🙂

Please note that the size of the food being served also dictates the size of the plate, and what you can generally do with the layout. The size of the cakes didn’t allow for a lot of options in my head, so I went with a basic layout. The GF had a different take on it, and you’ll see that pic below.

Sixth copy

She left off the rice, but did include a nice bump of color with the ramekin. That’s another easy way to add visual appeal to your dish. She wins!

My only critique of the food itself is that the cakes were a little big to stack attractively, or to arrange in more than one or two ways on the plate.  We scribbled some notes and there will be another attempt next year with more modest sized cakes, and we’ll do a comparison/contrast at that point.  I think we can do better!  🙂

Okay, now let’s get onto the dessert. we made an easy chocolate galette in the oven. Five simple ingredients: butter, sugar, chocolate, eggs, and a store-bought pie crust (GASP!). Pour the wet ingredients into the pie crust, throw it in the oven, and in just a half hour or so, you have a pretty tasty dessert!

galetteSixth

We didn’t have everything available to us to add some real color to the plate, so the GF drizzled some cookie icing across the cut galette, just for a little contrast.

second

I went with a Christmas tree motif with the icing, some left over M&M’s, and a shortbread cookie. The cookie was a little Star of David-ish, so I combined Chanukah and Christmas in a fun little dessert. We had other ideas initially for plating, but we didn’t get around to the store to pick up the needed items, and the plan changed slightly. I think the GF won for simplicity’s sake regarding the final plate.  Remember, I don’t just want fancy for the sake of fancy!

Sometimes you have to do that in the kitchen, but make sure that doesn’t get in the way of your fun! Cooking with the people you love is a great thing, and I vote for more of that!

The cheesecake pics will come later today. This was how it looked as it came out of the oven, and I think we did quite well with it.

Third

Okay, I’m off to have a little fun with my Sunday afternoon. The GF and I will meet for dinner, and attempts to plate the cheesecake in ways that you’ll find fun and easy!

Peace

Leave a Reply

